June 3rd, 2009

JAMESTOWN, ND - WISSOTA Amsoil Dirt Track racing at Jamestown Speedway has been absolutely outstanding the entire month of May. Close racing and lead changes have been the norm every night and the fans are loving it. Saturday night was another

outstanding night with John Corell, Dustin Strand, Rusty Kollman and Justin Kollman visiting victory lane.

Jerry Lamb and Corey Seckerson waged a battle for the lead in the WISSOTA Modified feature that had Seckerson running high and just nosing ahead of Lamb each time they crossed the line. Then the only yellow of the race came at lap 12 and closed up the field. Seckerson slid a little high in turn 2 on the restart and Lamb and Corell got by. Then they fought back and forth for the lead over the remaining 8 laps. Lamb led the next 4 laps, then Corell led lap 17. Lamb came back to lead lap 18 but Corell took the white flag and the checkered ahead of Lamb to claim his first feature win of the season. Lamb was followed across the line by Ben Mickelson, Mike Stearns, Seckerson, Jason Grimes, Mark Trautner, Bobby Eckerdt, Tim Compson and Jamie Trautner.

The WISSOTA Street Stock feature saw 4 cars cross the line side by side to complete the first lap. Scoring had Rusty Kollman ahead of Casey Stangeland by a nose with Rory Opp and Barrett Berg also in the mix. Kollman then opened up a 2 car length

lead but was never able to pull away. The only yellow flag of the race came at lap 17 and gave Stangeland and Luke Nelson a shot at Kollman. Kelly Hagel, who was in 5th on the restart, moved into contention and mixed it up with Nelson, Stangeland and Kollman over the last 3 laps. Kollman took the checkered flag with Hagel close behind. Stangeland edged Nelson at the line for third. Barrett Berg finished fifth followed by Rory Opp, Cammy Ost and Dustin Erickson.

Brent Perleberg grabbed the lead at the start of the WISSOTA MW Mod feature but Dustin Strand took control on lap 2. Ryan Mikkelson moved into second on lap 3 and raced hard with Strand over the next 8 laps until the yellow flag waved for Todd Johnson whose car slowed on the track. The yellow flag flew just one lap later for Jason Halvorson who spun. Strand again led the field back to green with Mikkelson and Jerry Theis in striking distance. Theis nosed ahead of Mikkelson at the line to complete lap 13 but Mikkelson passed him back and held him off over the remaining laps. At the line, it was Strand, Mikkelson, Theis, Jason Grimes, Tim Compson, Brent Perleberg, Josh Eberhardt, Eric Edwards, Taylor Weight and Brent Weight.

The Bomber feature was all Justin Kollman. Kollman took the lead on the first lap and never looked back in capturing his third feature win in a row. Donnie Martin passed Joe Jacobson for second and challenged Kollman for several laps. Martin was beside Kollman and actually nosed him out at the line just as the yellow flag waved for a blown motor. After the restart, the race went green the rest of the way with Martin on Kollman’s bumper but not able to get beside him again. Martin had to settle for second behind Kollman while Chris Gussiaas finished third. Joe Jacobson crossed the line in fourth followed by Shawn Becker, Jason Thoms, Jake Emo, Tyler Michel, Brandon Gussiaas and Josh Ganser.

Randy Gordon and Brandon Guthmiller won the Road Hog Race.

Next week will be a big show with the NLRA Late Models making a visit to the Speedway. All regular classes will also be competing. Races start at 7 PM.

Jerry Lamb Wins Modified Race