May 22nd, 2009

JAMESTOWN, ND — The sun came out for race day, Saturday, at Jamestown Speedway and the race cars came from all over the area for a great night of WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Series action on the smooth, high banked quarter mile.

The field of 26 WISSOTA Modifieds was pared down to 20 feature qualifiers through three heats and a B-main. Blake Jegtvig of Hawley, MN, Mike Stearms of Hecla, SD and Bobby Eckerdt of Grand Forks won the heat races and Nate Heinrich of Madison, MN
won the B-main.

Tim Compson was on the poll for the 20 lap feature race with Jason Grimes starting next to him and Stearns and Eckerdt in row 2. Grimes grabbed the lead at the drop of the green followed by Compson, Stearns, Eckerdt, Randal Hanson and Mitch Johnson.
Johnson wasted no time going to the front as he was in second by lap 5. Grimes and Johnson battled for the lead for the next 10 laps with Johnson gaining the advantage for laps 15 and 16 before Grimes squeezed by on the outside to retake the lead.
Johnson fought back but had his hands full with Stearns who managed to edge out Johnson for second at the line.

Grimes claimed his first feature win of the 2009 season followed by Stearns, Johnson, John Corell, Eckerdt, Randy Tarno, Mark Trautner, Hanson, Bob Sagen and Ben Mickelson.

The WISSOTA Street Stock feature was as action packed and entertaining as ever with four different leaders during the 20 lap event. Bob Banish Jr. started on the pole and lead early before seventh starting Luke Nelson took over at lap 7. Kollman nosed out Nelson for the lead off a restart at lap 14 and Kelly Hagel fought with Kollman for the lead over the last 5 laps with Hagel crossing the finish line first. Kollman, last week’s feature winner, finished second followed by Nelson, Banish, Nate Keena, Royce Jawaski, Rory Opp, Stangeland, Josh Olheiser and Travis Ulmer.

Thirty-three WISSOTA MW Modifieds ran 4 heats and 2 B-mains to qualify 20 cars for the feature race. Heat winners were Jerry Theis, Taylor Weight, Dustin Strand and Eric Edwards. The B-main winners were Josh Eberhardt and John Clemens.

Ryan Mikkelson and Scott Bintz started on the front row of the 20 lap feature with Brent Weight and Taylor Weight in row 2. Mikkelson grabbed the lead on the start followed by Bintz, Theis and Strand. Strand moved into second on lap 4 followed by
Bintz and Taylor Weight. The first yellow flag waved at lap 8 for Patrick Sobolik. The field had trouble getting going again with 2 more yellow flags on the restart.

One more lap in the books and the leader, Mikkelson, brought out the yellow with a spin in turn 4. That left Strand in the lead followed by Bintz and Theis. Theis moved into second on the restart and made the pass on Strand on lap 14. Strand passed him back and on Theis’ attempt to regain the lead, there was contact and Theis was called for bringing out the yellow flag. Strand went on to take the checkered flag just ahead of Bintz. Jeremy Forester came from his 15th starting spot to finish third followed by Taylor Weight, Josh Eberhardt, Bryce Borgen, Mike Anderson, Pat Sobolik, Brent Weight and Zach Naastad.

The Bomber heats were won by Zach Frederick, John VanBruggen and Shawn Becker and the B-main was won by Justin Kollman. Devin Christ started on the front row of the feature with VanBruggen starting next to him. Bryan Wolf and Leann Christensen
started in row 2. VanBruggen grabbed the lead followed by Christensen, Christ and Jake Emo. Christensen brought out the yellow on lap 2 with a spin on the back straight. On the restart, Emo took over the lead followed by Joe Jacobson.

The yellow flag flew after lap 4 for an incident in turn four that sent Becker to the rear of the field and on the restart, fifteenth starting Justin Kollman took over the lead. Kollman and Emo battled for the lead the rest of the way with Kollman coming out on top. Emo finished as the runner-up for the second week in a row. Zach Frederick finished third followed by Tyler Michel, Jason Thoms, Joe Jacobson, Bryan Wolf, Donnie Martin, Chris Gussiaas and Shawn Becker.

The Road Hog race was won by Randy Gordon and Brandon Guthmiller.

Next week will be 2009 High School Graduates night with all 2009 area High School seniors admitted free. All regular classes will be competing with racing starting at 7 PM.

Grimes, Hagel and Strand Win at Jamestown Speedway